Vietnam issues e-visas to citizens of all countries

The Government decided to grant electronic visas (e-visas) to citizens of all countries and territories entering Vietnam from August 15.

According to the Government’s resolution on August 14, there are 13 airports that allow foreigners to enter and exit by e-visa, including: Noi Bai, Tan Son Nhat, Cam Ranh, Da Nang, Cat Bi, Can Tho , Phu Quoc, Phu Bai, Van Don, Tho Xuan, Dong Hoi, Phu Cat, Lien Khuong.

16 land border gates apply e-visa, including: Tay Trang (Dien Bien), Mong Cai (Quang Ninh), Huu Nghi (Lang Son), Lao Cai, Na Meo (Thanh Hoa), Nam Can (Nghe An). , Cau Treo (Ha Tinh), Cha Lo (Quang Binh), La Lay and Lao Bao (Quang Tri), Bo Y (Kon Tum), Moc Bai and Xa Mat (Tay Ninh), Tinh Bien and Vinh Xuong (An Giang) ), Ha Tien (Kien Giang).


13 sea border gates apply e-visa, including: Hon Gai and Cam Pha (Quang Ninh), Hai Phong, Nghi Son (Thanh Hoa), Vung Ang (Ha Tinh), Chan May (Thua Thien Hue), Da Nang , Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh), Dung Quat (Quang Ngai), Vung Tau (Ba Ria Vung Tau), Ho Chi Minh City, Duong Dong (Kien Giang).

On the same day, the Government decided to temporarily stay from 15 to 45 days for citizens of 13 countries who are unilaterally exempted from visas by Vietnam.

Specifically, the countries include: Germany, France, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Russia, Japan, Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Belarus. Citizens of these countries when entering Vietnam are allowed to stay for 45 days from the time of entry, regardless of passport type and entry purpose.

Previously, the National Assembly allowed to increase the duration of temporary residence for citizens of countries unilaterally exempted from visas by Vietnam to 45 days, compared with the time limit specified in the Law on Entry, Exit, Transit and Residence of foreigners. foreigners in Vietnam in 2014.

In June, the National Assembly passed the Law amending and supplementing a number of articles of the Law on exit and entry of Vietnamese citizens and the Law on entry, exit, transit and residence of foreigners in Vietnam. which allows to increase the e-visa period from 30 to 90 days.

The National Assembly assigns the Government to decide on the list of countries and territories with granted citizens; list of international border gates allowing foreigners to enter and exit by e-visa.

Expanding the scope of issuance and extending the duration of e-visas is expected by the Government and businesses to create great leverage to attract tourism, investment, business cooperation and scientific research.

Currently, the e-visa issued by the Immigration Department to foreigners through the electronic transaction system is valid once. Before the above resolution, Vietnam granted e-visas to citizens of 80 countries.